Mormons Rock

October 7, 2007

What is “Anti”???????

Filed under: LDS,Mormons — by steffielynn @ 1:14 am
Tags: , ,

Anti-MormonCartoon.jpg

“Anti” mormon  is used to represent opposition to the Church of Jesus Christ Of  Latter Day Saints.  The church has seen opposition since the very beginning.  Some people who oppose the church are violent, rude and mean.  Some (although few) can be tactful and genuine.  I have personally encountered anti, since I was a child.  It began with my parents who taught me Mormons were “hell bound” and “brainwashed”.  I joined the LDS church at the age of 26.  I was at that time bombarded with anti, mostly from family, some from “concerned” neighbors.  My uncle who is a Lutheran pastor sent me a letter, in it he wrote,”if you become mormon you and your children and husband will burn in hell for eternity.”  I also lost a job watching a little girl in my home because I was mormon.  I have been told everything from I’m going to burn in hell to I don’t believe in Jesus Christ.  I have been cussed out and called a liar.  If you want to see how bad it can get click here (but I must warn you it gets mean and ugly)  http://bloggingpoints.blogspot.com/2007/02/blogging-points-scoops-ap-on-mitt.html

 I must conclude that people like this are just ignorant.  It saddens me.  If you wish to get a point across you should use kindness and love. 

10 Comments »

  1. My experience of Mormons over the last two years is that they label any questioning of the church as anti mormon..

    If I ask a question and its difficult to answer , I’m accused of reading Anti Mormon literature ……

    If I tell my Mormon friends something factually true and its uncomfortable for them , once again I’m accused of reading anti Mormon Literature …. or focusing on the wrong stuff .

    I’ve been reading Rough Stone Rolling written by the church’s No1 Authority on the life of Joseph Smith …I’ve also been reading B H Roberts – His Studies Of The Book Of Mormon … he was a GA of the seventy and probably the greatest defender of the faith …

    I also read Grant Palmers book ‘ An Insiders view of mormon origins ‘ – he spent his life in the church , served a mission , married in the temple , worked for 30 years for the church CES system ….

    I don’t class any of these books as Anti Mormon but rather Pro truth and Honest scholarship … together with many things I’ve learned from ex mormons and mormons on the internet , I’ve concluded the church despite being very ‘Christlike’ in many aspects and my nicest experience of religion to date is not what it claims to be or at least The Book Of Mormon historical narratives are just the pure imagination of Joseph Smith ….

    If the events which followed weren’t so tragic for the early followers then I might even have seen the funny side to it 😦

    Comment by Elder Joseph — October 7, 2007 @ 8:21 pm |Reply

  2. EJ

    I agree that asking questions is not anti. Reading 2 sides to a story is a natural thing for someone to do if they are seeking sincere truth. What is anti though is twisting doctrine and twisting truth to make it sound bad when it is not. I have read many books written by non LDS about the LDS faith. Sadly these people get it wrong almost everytime.

    Anti is also calling people names and belittling people to make a “point”.

    Comment by steffielynn — October 7, 2007 @ 11:03 pm |Reply

  3. Steffie,

    I didn’t know you had a blog. Glad to know you do.

    EJ,

    I’m curious if the people in your ward that accuse you of being anti, or of reading anti literature are doing so because of pre-conceived determination of your motives. They probably think you are asking the question because you want them to think about the answer, not because you are looking for the answer. I could be wrong. Just an observation.

    Back to Steffie,

    As you know General Conference was just held in SLC this weekend. I attended the Saturday afternoon session because my daughter sang in the YW’s choir. I had to walk past protesters to get to the entrance to the conference center. They were yelling Hell and Damnation to mormons. They were actually quite civil, but I couldn’t help but thinking how ill-informed they were. How can anyone think that someone is going to burn in hell because of the religion they belong to? Makes no sense to me. As you know, I don’t think there is a “one true church”. I think that people will be judged for what’s in their heart, not what religion they belong to or what ordinances they had performed on or for them. That all just seems silly to me. Jesus didn’t perform any ordinances on anyone, and didn’t preach them either. He never said “get baptised” or “pay tithing” or “get your endowments” or any other nonsense. He taught principles for making your life and those around you better. Pretty simple actually. It is man that has gone and mucked it all up with all the hoops and hoopla.

    Comment by Bishop Rick — October 8, 2007 @ 4:49 pm |Reply

  4. Bishop Rick, I assume EJ found you! Yah! I’m so glad he did!

    So you went to conference!? That’s exciting, I hope I can get to the next one. I would love to see those people in person. I have heard about them. Do most people just walk by them or argue or what? I would love to talk to them. Are they always around or do they just come around at conference time?

    My personal beliefs go along with yours. I believe we will be judged by our hearts. People who spew hatred don’t seem to have a pure and kind heart, but i’m not the judge.

    That’s so amazing that your daughter was in the choir! I’m in YW’s and I love the girls! I think the Saturday session was so great. What did you think since you were there in person and all???

    Comment by steffielynn — October 8, 2007 @ 5:01 pm |Reply

  5. Bishop Rick

    I’ve struggled asking questions from the very beginning because I was accused of looking at Anti ? at first I was only asking genuine questions and I was a bit shocked at the whole anti thing .

    Everything is Anti to some , even the recent PBS Documentary ! lol

    When I was confronted as to why I haven’t baptised then I would tell them why
    1 Joseph Smiths Polygamy and also polygamy with other mens wives – they said thats Anti !
    2 Head in a Hat and stone – yes Anti again ! lol
    3 Blacks and JOD quotes – ended up in bishops office with a politer gag order – “don’t tell the black brothers ” lol

    Most of the answers I get is

    1 We don’t know
    2 We will understand in the new life
    3 God was proving or testing them
    4 Its not important to our salvation
    5 There are things you shouldn’t know yet , milk before meat ? lol
    6 Pray about it …

    non of them are answers ! lol

    I can’t really ask anything meaningful thats why I ended up putting a few Mormon Videos on You tube and managed to find some members to ask the difficult stuff ..

    So recently I’ve been asking just to see if anyone actually knows anything and its shocking how many haven’t a clue and how many actually give a false answer too …(usually because they don’t know better themselves ) ….

    I’ve been told before that a certain respected TBM in our ward has read all the Anti and it amounts to nothing , so why can’t they answer my questions then ! lol

    Steffie

    Now your blog is getting going 🙂 ! lol

    Comment by Elder Joseph — October 8, 2007 @ 10:07 pm |Reply

  6. Steffie,

    I have attended GC many times in the old Tabernacle so the awe of it has long since past, but this was my first time in the new Conference Center. The acoustics are absolutely amazing. What you heard by the YW’s choir on Saturday did not do it justice. Hearing them in person in the CC was uncomparable.

    The protesters are there (Temple Square area) pretty much all the time. They mean well as they truly think they are trying to save Mormons from Hellfire. For the most part it is just them shouting Hell and Damnation. I did see one sign that said JS and BY were perverts, but it is mostly pretty tame. 99% of the time people just walk past, but there are occasions when someone gets riled and goes after the protesters…usually during conference. Nothing happened this conference however.

    In general, I don’t have a problem with these “street preachers”, but I do take offense when they picket temple marriage parties tainting what should be a special day for the couples.

    It makes me laugh, because these guys do nothing to draw people from mormonism and if anything, strengthen LDS convictions…you know, “it must be true if there is this much opposition”.

    Comment by Bishop Rick — October 9, 2007 @ 10:01 pm |Reply

  7. So we’re called “antis,” interesting. 🙂

    Are you the only one who uses this term or does it have broader use within the Mormon community?

    Comment by totaltransformation — October 10, 2007 @ 12:00 pm |Reply

  8. I would only call you “anti” If you are rude,hateful,or twist our beliefs, So Are YOU anti? I don’t know. Do you do these things???? I hope not.

    Someone who diasagrees I do not consider anti.

    The word anti is used a lot among the LDS. Have you ever had anyone scream and spit in your face and tell you you are going to hell? A lot of LDS have. Here is a link and you can see a little bit of what is said about us by “christians” (I put christians in quotations, because these people are not acting Christ like.)

    http://www.fairlds.org/Anti-Mormons/Street_Preachers.html

    Comment by steffielynn — October 10, 2007 @ 12:19 pm |Reply

  9. “I would only call you “anti” If you are rude,hateful,or twist our beliefs, So Are YOU anti? I don’t know. Do you do these things???? I hope not.”

    Nope, I don’t qualify thus far.

    “Someone who disagrees I do not consider anti.”

    Good.

    “The word anti is used a lot among the LDS.”

    That is good to know. 🙂

    “Have you ever had anyone scream and spit in your face and tell you you are going to hell?”

    Yeah, but that was because I was a conservative political activist on a very liberal campus. I even got harassing phone calls late at night.

    Plus, who could spit in the face of another- much less a lady. How uncivilized and disgusting.

    Comment by totaltransformation — October 10, 2007 @ 2:42 pm |Reply

  10. Steffie you said

    “I would only call you “anti” If you are rude,hateful,or twist our beliefs”

    That means when I say that Brigham Young called teens to marry and conceive or threatened them with hell if they murmured about it .. I’m not Anti

    Also that means when I show that Brigham Young thought monogomy as the cause of Prostitution and whoredom thats not anti either 🙂

    That means that when I say that Brigham Young taught that Adam was God and that The Lord had revealedd it to him , then thats not Anti either 🙂

    I love being pro mormon ! lol

    I can’t imagine you following/believing the prophet Brigham Young’s teachings !

    Ps Did you notice at conference Russel Ballard talking about those who cast dispersions on the Book Of Mormon ? lol he was talking about his own church members…

    Comment by Elder Joseph — October 12, 2007 @ 3:14 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

