Mormons Rock

November 11, 2007

Rainbows or water falls…..

“You don’t have the power to make rainbows or waterfalls, sunsets or roses, but you do have the power to bless people by your words and smiles… You carry within you the power to make the world better…”
 
          –Sharon G. Larsen, “Standing with God,” Ensign, May 2000, 88

Mathew 25:40
Mosiah 2:17

Scatter Sunshine, Hymn # 230
Listen | Text | Interactive | About

What else needs to be said?

 Here is the link to LDS Nuggets

http://www.ldsnuggets.com/index.html

8 Comments »

  1. I like this statement Steffie , but unfortunately it has little relevance to the early Mormon church , to Joseph Smith or to Brigham Young … 😦
    The early Saints lived were blighted by these men and not blessed.

    Intead of “the power to bless people by your words and smiles” , Jospeh Smith asked for his followers wives ( and took many ) .

    Brigham Young aranged marriages of young girls to OLD Mormon men as a reward for their obedience to him…

    Thats not making the world better in my eyes.

    Thank goodness for the Law of The Land ( against these practices )which has made the world a better place .

    Thank goodness for The Civil Rights movement which has made the world a better place .

    Thank goodness for DNA and maybe the Indians are not lied to anymore which makes the world a better place .

    Thank goodness for Steffie which makes the world a better place 🙂

    Comment by elder joseph — November 11, 2007 @ 2:24 pm |Reply

  2. Making the world a better place

    I think everyone on this blog has that as a common goal. That being said how can we make things better? What can we do as LDS and non-LDS to make that happen?

    I have found it very interesting, that when presented with situations or instances that non-LDS or people like me that come to a different belief and leave the church are treated poorly or subject of some very hurtful actions or derogatory statements or comments. I am told that this is an exception to the rule. I don’t believe that to be true both through experience and observation as a non-LDS.

    I know that the word tolerance is thrown around a lot in religious faith circles, that the Churches teach tolerance, isn’t that what Christ was about? I think we need to look at the word acceptance. Interestingly enough as I happened to be contemplating this issue, I turned my satellite radio to the “Patriot” channel; the commentator made a comment and went on to define the two. He said tolerance is when the belief system of the majority allows those in the minority to have and practice their beliefs, He said acceptance is when he considered them as equal and that their beliefs are as valid as his. As a Christian he further stated he had tolerance rather than acceptance because there is no way any good Christian could possibly accept homosexuality as being equal.

    Define making the world a better place, some would agree with this man and would consider the World a better place if we imposed all those Christian views on society. Others like me think to make the world a better place we need to accept all humanity as equal regardless of belief.

    Acceptance or Tolerance? Does the core teaching of Christianity allow for acceptance?

    Comment by CoventryRM — November 11, 2007 @ 5:32 pm |Reply

  3. Well, I like the quote, and I think it is beautiful. It is not for Latter Day Saints ONLY. If everyone had a better attitude and they were kind to one another, what a glorious beautiful world we would live in. Maybe we all should take the advice to,

    “Bless people with our words and smiles”

    You can be any religion (or atheist) and be able to do this! A kind word and a smile go along way!

    Here is mine for all of you 😀

    Comment by steffielynn — November 11, 2007 @ 6:01 pm |Reply

  4. I like the quote as well, I had been thinking it would be nice to discuss on here the things that could be done and what behaviors could be changed by both LDS and non-LDS to help us to that end, of making the world a better place for all.

    Comment by CoventryRM — November 11, 2007 @ 6:08 pm |Reply

  5. Just loved what you wrote…Pax, carry on the good work.
    I live in remote India and am a confirmed Hindu. But I love and follow Christ, though you might not agree with me…this post was a spirit-booster, thanks to God for making you post this…

    Comment by Rhapsody Singer — November 11, 2007 @ 7:03 pm |Reply

  6. This evening I went ‘tracting’ with the missionaries . The thought of making this world a better place was buzzing around in my mind ..

    We had doors slammed on us but I understood why so I have no anomosity to the householder . We had some good discussions and it was so cold I thought I might freeze 😦

    The last door we knocked after 2 and a half hours let us in .He was a black person , so kind and good to us .He expalained how he had tried lots of churches and found it all confusing why there are so many etc and if there really is a God ?

    My missionary was trying to get him to accept and read a book of mormon and said it would change his life if he read it and prayed about it ?

    but how would we explain this ?

    2 Nephi 5:21 And he had caused the cursing to come upon them, yea, even a sore cursing, because of their iniquity. For behold, they had hardened their hearts against him, that they had become like unto a flint; wherefore, as they were WHITE, and exceedingly fair and delightsome, that they might not be enticing unto my people the Lord God did cause a skin of BLACKNESS to come upon them.

    Jacob 3:5, Behold, the Lamanites your brethren, whom ye hate because of their filthiness and the CURSING which hath come upon their SKINS, are more righteous than you; for they have not forgotten the commandment of the Lord, which was given unto our father—that they should have save it were one wife, and concubines they should have none, and there should not be whoredoms committed among them.
    8 O my brethren, I fear that unless ye shall repent of your sins that their SKINS will be WHITER than yours, when ye shall be brought with them before the throne of God.

    WORST STILL these verses in Jacob suposedly criticize them for having more than one wife ? and then look at what followed afterwards by Joseph Smith and crew 😦

    Is this the word of God I ask ? If the black gentleman comes to church ( he just might ) how would I explain all this to him ? :(:( Am I supposed to hope he never notices ?

    Get him dipped as soon as possible !!
    Is this how it works .Did the New Testament Apostles have the same dilemma ?

    My missionaries keep challenging me to baptism for Dec 4th . So I said OK lets maybe do a ‘make’ or ‘break’ , either I baptise or I leave for good ? They knew the implication 😦 and i’m ready to do one or the other if necessary .

    Its clear to me that there is a subtle LDS interpretation on the definition of the ‘visitors welcome ‘ sign outside the church .Long term ones may not really be welcome 😦 They perhaps really mean that they prefer baptised visitors .

    Even the recent campaign to help people trace family history is just about converting them to the church and nothing else …. In fact inviting non members to socials is really only for that one purpose .

    Steffie I know I’ve strayed off the subject again 😦

    Comment by elder joseph — November 11, 2007 @ 7:59 pm |Reply

  7. Rhapsody singer,

    I am so glad that it touched your heart! It touched mine as well! 🙂

    EJ

    EJ, EJ, EJ….. (shakes head)

    How do I begin? First let me say this,

    My prayer is that you will be baptized on Dec 4th. My prayer is that you will know in your heart that the gospel is infact true. As LDS we believe it is so very important to be baptized. It is the 1st ordinance of the gospel. I like to think of it as the beginning of the beginning. It is the first step. You take upon you the name of Jesus Christ. You promise that you will always remember Him. You leave your sinful life behind, you become clean and new. It is not something you HAVE to do. I think if you are not ready or you don’t want to, then you need to tell your missionaries the truth. You can still attend church if you want to. But i’m not sure exactly why you are so invoved and at the same time so against it. You attend services and even go our with the missionaries.

    You think it is all a scam, but have you ever thought that the LDS members actually believe it IS true, and they just want you to know it’s true, and be happy? If they did not believe it they would not be trying so stinkin hard on YOUR behalf!!!!!!!

    Anyhow, i’m glad the thought of making the world a better place was on your mind! 🙂

    Coventry, I agree, i think we should start talking about… “How to make the world a better place!” Shall we start here or should I make it a post?

    Comment by steffielynn — November 12, 2007 @ 6:58 am |Reply

  8. steffie
    you said ” As LDS we believe it is so very important to be baptized. It is the 1st ordinance of the gospel.”

    I know this , you want people to get baptised before they have actually learned exactly what kind of church it is , what is really expected of them and what the true beliefs are !

    ” You take upon you the name of Jesus Christ. You promise that you will always remember Him. ”

    There are many who simply ignore this , so why baptise in the first place ? I’ve seen Athiests better remember Christ than what I’ve read and seen about some members of the LDS church ….

    “You think it is all a scam, but have you ever thought that the LDS members actually believe it IS true, and they just want you to know it’s true”

    Yes I had the same pressure 20 years ago from people to invest in a certain savings policy that was going to make them all rich .I declined and predicted losses for them all and I was correct . Some 15 years later it was declared a national scandal in the UK .( look up Endowment Scandal on Google )
    They REALLY believed !! 🙂
    I was looked at as the Infidel becaus I didn’t tell them what they WANTED to hear but told them the TRUTH about what they really invested in .

    Comment by elder joseph — November 12, 2007 @ 6:00 pm |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

